Real Talk

After several months of reflection and healing from a recent chain of breakdowns, I realize that I now have a very low tolerance for bullshit from those close to me (yes, forgive my language, parentals).

I saw this quote on my Facebook feed today:
“In life you will realize there is a role for everyone to meet. Some will test you, some will use you, some will love you, and some will teach you. But the ones who are truly important are the ones who bring out the best in you. They are the rare and amazing people who remind you why it’s worth it.”

It is very easy to push people aside as not caring when hurt. But it also presents a very real possibility which I sincerely wish is not the case for you out there. But, at the end of the grieving, you gotta ask yourself this question: “Do they really care?” Not in the sort of melodramatic, no one cares about me, everyone left me, they don’t really mean what they say etc. etc.

But for real, do the people around me sincerely care about me?
For that, I’ll have to answer to myself as to my own motives.
What do I want and what kind of role do people play with respect to that?
For me, I now hate when people close to me sugar coat things. If you want a genuine relationship with me, you better be blunt or at least try to be honest with me. To me, your need to hide things shows the lack of trust between us. And this goes both ways.

I hope you have the sort of entourage that bring out the best in you.

Please subscribe to follow along in my personal project #RealTalk

Leave a Reply

